Chapter 16
A Community of Tennessee Writers, Readers & Passersby

This Afterlife: Selected Poems

By A. E. Stallings
Farrar, Straus and Giroux
240 pages

This Afterlife: Selected Poems brings together poetry from A. E. Stallings’s four acclaimed collections, Archaic Smile, Hapax, Olives, and Like, as well as a lagniappe of outlier poems. Over time, themes and characters reappear, speaking to one another across years and experience, creating a complex music of harmony, dissonance, and counterpoint… Many of these poems unfold in the mytho-domestic sphere, through the eyes of Penelope or Pandora, Alice in Wonderland or the poet herself.”

~ the publisher