Chapter 16
A Community of Tennessee Writers, Readers & Passersby

John Fergus Ryan (1930-2003)

Born in Arkansas, John Fergus Ryan called Memphis, Tennessee home for more than 40 years, and graduated from Memphis State University in 1957. He was the author of two plays, The Minor Poet and Doctor Holocaust, and three novels, The Redneck Bride, The Little Brothers of St. Mortimer, and Watching. Some of his work, including The Redneck Bride, has been adapted into screenplays. He also appeared in Milos Forman’s film The People vs. Larry Flynt.

Selected Bibliography

The Redneck Bride (fiction), 1982
The Little Brothers of St. Mortimer (fiction), 1991
Watching (fiction), 1997

Selected Links

A memorial for John Fergus Ryan in the Memphis Flyer:–1930-2003/Content?…

An appreciation of The Redneck Bride at

John Fergus Ryan’s page at the University of Tennessee at Chattanooga’s Tennessee Writers pages: