Chapter 16
A Community of Tennessee Writers, Readers & Passersby

Tennessee Sweep

Poets Kate Daniels and Jeff Daniel Marion to be honored by the Fellowship of Southern Writers

October 15, 2010 This week, the Fellowship of Southern Writers notified Kate Daniels and Jeff Daniel Marion that they would be honored in April at the Fellowship’s Conference on Southern Literature in Chattanooga.

Daniels will receive the 2011 Hanes Award for Poetry. She is a professor in the MFA program at Vanderbilt and author of the forthcoming collection, A Walk in Victoria’s Secret, as well as three other books of poems. (One of them, The White Wave, received the prestigious Agnes Lynch Starrett Prize for Poetry.) Earlier winners of the Hanes Award include T. R. Hummer, Yusef Komunyakaa, Andrew Hudgins, and Ellen Bryant Voigt.

Marion, currently serving as the Jack E. Reese Writer-in-Residence at UT Libraries, Knoxville, will receive the 2011 James Still Award for Writing about the Appalachian South. Formerly poet-in-residence and professor of creative writing at Carson-Newman College, Marion is also the author of eight books, including Ebbing & Flowing Springs: New and Selected Poems and Prose, 1976-2001, which won the 2003 Independent Publishers Award in Poetry and was named Appalachian Book of the Year by the Appalachian Writers Association. Past recipients of the Still Award include George Scarbrough, Silas House, Charles Frazier, and Ron Rash, among others.

Founded in 1987 to recognize and encourage Southern literature, the Fellowship of Southern Writers has a membership that might as well serve as a Who’s Who of Southern literature. Charter members included James Dickey, John Hope Franklin, Earnest Gaines, Walker Percy, Reynolds Price, Elizabeth Spencer, Robert Penn Warren, and Eudora Welty, among other notables.

For more updates on Tennessee authors, please visit Chapter 16‘s News & Notes page, here.